Scripting Maya with Python

This is the introduction to a series of small tutorials I’m going to make while learning to use Python in Maya.

I always learn stuff better if I try to teach what I learn to others while doing it. Maybe someone out there will find use for my experiences!
To start with I want to explain why I want to learn to use Python with Maya.
For some years now, I’ve used both Python and Maya occasionally, just as a hobby.
I am by no means an advanced user of Maya, but I find the software incredibly fascinating.
You can do so much cool stuff with its modules, like the nCloth module, the dynamics and fluids modules, hair and fur, Maya Muscle,
I could go on and on. Incredibly complex software. It’s also very demanding and difficult to learn properly.

People spend years of working with it without learning everything. You just can’t expect to master all aspects of the software, but
that’s not my goal either.
I like to model objects, set up the shaders and render settings and watch the results. Animation is also something that Maya does maybe best in the industry, so a bit of that is also something I like to spend time doing.
When it comes to Python, I learned some of it while working as a network administrator, using it for system scripting mostly.
I’ve never felt the need for extending Maya with anything, because I have plenty to learn before ever needing to customize anything myself.

So basically this project with learning how to use Python to script Maya is purely for entertainment.
But, who knows? Maybe I find it so interesting that I can start writing plugins. Or maybe I come across a situation where I miss a certain modeling tool or want to change how the defaults are working, then it would be nice to
roll my own little script instead of relying on others work on places like creativecrash.com.

Anyway, if you’re new to the world of scripting Maya with Python, the upcoming posts to this blog might get you in the right direction of learning it!

So, until next time, sharpen your senses.

