What do you know, now I’m back on the Modo Track…

To cite myself in my last post:

“Then we have Modo. Once my favorite polygonal modeler, back in the version 3 days. Now the whole company has been snatched by The Foundry, and all clues given leads in the direction of massive feature and price increases. So, no more Modo for me I guess.”

Then, out of curiosity, I visited the new Modo Site to check out how things where looking and what do I see?

Modo upgrades at a 40% rebate…
So, after bragging about Modo 701’s ability to run smooth on Linux in an earlier post I decided to get my CC and order the upgrade from my commercial 401 license to the latest 701 SP3. Hey, it was like $220 or something… Can’t let that slip by when I’ve always wanted to learn the ins and outs of Modo. I’ve been using it since the second version, so I figured, what a heck, it’s Christmas!

Besides, I needed a stable modeler to run on Linux besides Blender.

I mean, Blender is an awesome project, but that’s the thing. It’s a “Project” in a constant state of flux more than it is a stable “Product”, one version does things different from the next, not just in terms of the details but in the core implementation. So I find myself using about double the time on modeling something in Blender compared to using Modo, and as we all know time is our most precious asset in life.

So this winter I’ll get up to speed on the new Bullet physics implementation, the sculpting tools, the Python and the C++ API’s and the rest of this polished package.

I’ve also purchased the “Substance Designer”  version 4, which has very smooth integration with the Modo shading system, and it’s a joy to use.
I urge you to try it out, either as a trial or as a non-commercial learning tool for $99.

My goal in the world of 3D is to gather set of tools that makes a “good enough” pipeline, suitable for artists on a semi to low budget, that does things clean and efficiently and produces output that’s “on par” with expensive packages like Autodesk’s suites and tools like NukeX. Modo will definitely be a large part of this pipeline, but so will Blender and the Substance Designer from Allegorithmic.

Blender has some good compositing tools, Modo is the king of UV’s and texturing and is starting to get quite good on things like rigging and animation as well.

I believe that it should be perfectly possible to get a complete 3D pipeline of good tools for around $1000. If 3D is what you wish to do for work or as an advanced hobby, that’s not a bad price to pay. But you’ll need to be constantly monitoring the extreme offers from the tool producers via newsletters, RSS and forums.

I’m so sick of reading about a semi-professional artist with an image posted in magazines like 3D World and when they list the products used you see things like: 3DS Max, V-Ray, Nuke, Mari, Photoshop and ZBrush.
Should I seriously believe that this artist has legal licenses for software with an estimated value of $15.000 – 20.000? Seriously doubt it.
And if so, it’s NOT WORTH IT! Go figure, man!

Learn how to draw, learn Blender, Gimp and a semi-expensive package like Modo or Lightwave and you’ll be able to create just as nice results.

It’s in the hands and the mind of the artist, not in the tools. Only a poor craftsman blames his tools.

Until next time, have a wonderful Christmas you all and remember: Never stop learning!

40% off on Modo 701!

40% off on Modo 701!

 

 

 

 

 

The MadMan.

 

 

 

